The Man in Black

I have always loved The Princess Bride. I love the movie, I love the book, I have multiple copies of each. Last night, I was lucky enough to meet Cary Elwes through getting a VIP ticket to watch The Princess Bride at the Paramount in Denver. It was a great experience, with everyone quoting the movie together as it played, and a Q&A session afterwards. I wore the closest thing I have to a Buttercup dress. After that, I got an autographed book, two hugs and a conversation with the man himself, as well as a professional picture:

Cary Elwes and me
Cary and Patty

I am so ridiculously happy that I can hardly describe it. He shook my hand and hugged me during our introduction. I told him how I incorporated The Princess Bride into my wedding, and how my baby sister (who had done the ‘Mawwaige’ speech at my reception once upon a time) was getting married in just over a week. He said to pass along his best wishes and how happy he was that she had found her ‘twu wuv.’ And then I got another hug. I am still over the moon that I finally met this man, whom I have loved forever.

One thought on “The Man in Black

Leave a Reply

