That was thrilling

My first cycling team ride went incredibly well! I got in just under 18 miles, with a top speed of 28 miles per hour. I learned how to draft today (huge for group rides!) and got lots of good tips. Also, the weather cooperated beautifully! I couldn’t have asked for better conditions. I met some new ladies, and the six of us rode around for a good hour, plus a bit more. 🙂 And the majority of the trip we took today was to places I hadn’t ever been, roads I’ve never been down before. Who could ask for a better first experience?

 

And now, I’m in the mood for baking. I’m thinking oatmeal cookies, since it has been a looong time since I have made those. Which gets me thinking about a lot of options: I have been reading up a lot lately on how to do better meal planning, saving money at the grocery store, freezing items, and in general, eating healthier. I am not a vegan or a vegetarian, though I do love some v friendly dishes (and I just got the Veganomicon – squee!) and would like to cook more of them. I am particularly interested in how to spend more time cooking at home with my partner – we both love to cook and he actually enjoys doing dishes, which is only one of the many many reasons why I am a damn lucky girl – and how to have enough ready-to-go meals and snacks prepared when we don’t have the time we need. Cooking larger batches and freezing them is an easy way to go about it, but how to ensure you have the variety that we are fortunate enough to enjoy? Plus, he is a snacking fiend, so I will need to figure out how to break up the meal-sized items and have some snack-sizes as well.

It certainly helps that I have a deep freeze, enjoy canning, and we both love to experiment with different foods.

I’m looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

